Categories:
  • Technology
  • News & Politics
  • Technology
Steve Gibson, the man who coined the term spyware and created the first anti-spyware program, creator of Spinrite and ShieldsUP, discusses the hot topics in security today with Leo Laporte.

Records live every Tuesday at 4:30pm Eastern / 1:30pm Pacific / 20:30 UTC.

SN 624: Twelve and Counting



Security Now (MP3)

This week we have a Marcus Hutchins update, the backstory on the NIST's rewrite of their 15-year-old password guidance, can DNA be used to hack a computer? Can stop sign graffiti be used to misdirect autonomous vehicles?, the final nail in the WoSign/StartCom coffin, why we need global Internet policy treaties, this week in "researchers need protection", a VPN provider who is doing everything right, Elcomsoft's password manager cracker, a bit of errata and miscellany... and some closing the loop feedback from this podcast's terrific listeners.

We invite you to read our show notes.


Hosts: Steve Gibson and Leo Laporte


Download or subscribe to this show at https://twit.tv/shows/security-now.

You can submit a question to Security Now! at the GRC Feedback Page.

For 16kbps versions, transcripts, and notes (including fixes), visit Steve's site: grc.com, also the home of the best disk maintenance and recovery utility ever written Spinrite 6.

Bandwidth for Security Now is provided by CacheFly.